Location: Sherman Oaks
Schedule: MUST be FLEX! With some live in days
Compensation: $75k salary

A mom and daughter duo (daughter is 16) is seeking a personal/family assistant to join their happy team! Mom travels a lot for work, and will be leaving town April 1 – Dec 31 for extended periods of time. She is seeking a friendly, organized individual who is an excellent communicator.

General duties will include driving her 16 year old daughter to and from school, walking two dogs, shopping for groceries, picking up mail packages, running errands, handling some meal prep, loading the dishwasher after the meal prep, order business gifts, etc.

The specific days/hours of this position are somewhat flexible/ever changing, and there will be a need to stay over nights to house sit/dog sit/teen sit for extended periods of time between now and end-December, but this will not be considered a live-in role. Some weeks will be very light and some will be heavier. If you only work a few days a week, you will still be compensated with the full salary.

Mom will need someone to check in on screen time for her daughter and do meal prep together, being a general companion to her, overseeing homework, proofreading an essay before it’s turned in, etc. The assistant will have their own room with its own bathroom in the room, on the first floor. Lots of privacy and space!

When mom is in town, the assistant would do things such as walk the dogs, order groceries and deliver business gifts. Grocery shopping, drop off dry cleaning, do errands, some light cooking. You can also shadow mom at work if you like– depending on your interests.

When mom is away, the daily hours would be your own to set once her daughter has been dropped off at school in the morning, the dogs have been fed and walked, and errands are done. She will need this person to move in to the house starting April 1st. This includes sleepovers all week. 7 nights full time housesitting (could have 2 nights covered if you prefer to have 2 nights off).

The important thing is that the assistant is available for school driving through the weekdays. You can spend time at their house or go home. There are no cleaning duties other than after dinner dishes and keeping up your own room in the house/washing your linens, etc.

A typical schedule is as follows:

7:30 AM drop off with 3:40 PM pick up (earlier on Wednesdays).
Dinner @ 5:30.

More specific duties:

  • Cooking dinner on some days. Clean up with daughter.
  • Calling anyone who needs to be scheduled (tutors, doctors).
  • Letting the gardeners in the gates in the morning, and the pool man into the gate
  • Dog walking in the morning and afternoon (Take one dog to daycare some days)
  • Daily last minute things such as calling a plumber and being at the house for the person to work.
  • Some driving to events
  • Open to travel to bring daughter to mom when she is away working for extended periods of time. (if not, friends are available to do this).
  • HUGE plus if you can speak Greek!

There is an opportunity for growth down the road when the teenager goes off to college — perhaps assisting mom on set, helping develop writing material, or becoming the house manager! GREAT potential for a lovely long term fit with a wonderful boss!

To apply for this job email your details to rachel@thegrapevinela.com